FANDOM




Roman Torchwick est un personnage dans le monde du RWBY et un antagoniste secondaire. Il fait un très petit caméo dans la bande-annonce "Yellow" avant d'apparaître véritablement dans "Ruby Rose". Il dirige le vol de poussière de la boutique From Dust Till Dawn, qui a finalement été déjoué par Ruby Rose.

Il meurt avalé par un Griffon lors de son affrontement avec Ruby, dans "Heroes and Monsters".

Apparence Modifier

Roman avait les yeux allongés, vert foncé et des cheveux orange, avec une longue frange couvrant son œil droit. L’œil gauche à ses cils du bas très longs.

Roman portait un costume blanc doublé de rouge avec un long pantalon noir et des chaussures noires. Parmi ses accessoires, il y avait une petite écharpe grise, des gants noirs et un chapeau melon noir avec une petite plume tenue par sa bande rouge.

On voyait souvent Roman fumer des cigares, car il gardait toujours un petit briquet de style zippo.

Personnalité Modifier

La personnalité de Roman était un mélange entre un gentleman et de criminel impitoyable. Il parle calmement même au beau milieu d'un vol à main armée. Roman est hostile lorsqu'il est contrarié ou frustré, comme le montre "No Brakes" quand il a ordonné au White Fang de l'aider à tirer sur Ruby alors qu'elle s'échappait, pliant son arme et renvoyant un subordonné en arrière.

Roman s'est également montré impitoyable, manifestement disposé à utiliser une force meurtrière sur Ruby lorsqu'elle a déjoué son stratagème, allant même jusqu'à rire, après l'avoir abattue avec succès dans "Black and White". Dans "Heroes and Monsters", il a même reproché à Ruby d'être aveugle face à la cruauté du monde réel tout en essayant de la battre avec sa canne. À en juger par sa tenue et ses accessoires élaborés, Roman avait également des goûts onéreux, un stéréotype commun des membres de la Mafia et d’autres piliers du crime organisé.

Ce trait était également illustré par sa réaction à la destruction du Paladin-290 Atlesian qu’il pilotait, ce qui l’a projeté de le projeter violemment au sol, éparpillé par des débris. Plutôt que de paraître mécontent de ce qui est arrivé à son robot ou de craindre la situation, il s’est tout simplement écarté, expliquant que l’expérience avait ruiné ses vêtements.

Bien qu'il travaille avec le White Fang, il n'avait aucun respect, ni pour eux, ni pour les Faunus en général. À plusieurs reprises, il leur a parlé ou à leur sujet de façon péjorative, les qualifiant de "clebs" ou d'"animaux". On ne sait pas si cela est représentatif de l'hostilité envers le Faunus en général ou de sa frustration de devoir travailler avec le groupe. Il se peut qu'il n'ait pas aimé être commandé par Cinder Fall et ses associés.

Il a aussi souvent moqué, raillé et insulté ses ennemis, comme quand il a appelé Blake Belladonna, en disant: "Ici, minou, minou", ainsi que lorsqu'il a répondu à l'arrivée de Ruby en disant: "Eh bien, bonjour, Red! N'est-ce pas l'heure d'aller te coucher? Il continue même dans des situations très difficiles, comme lorsqu'il avait été emprisonné et interrogé par James Ironwood.

Dans "Heroes and Monsters", il a révélé qu'il travaillait avec la faction de Cinder avec la conviction que personne ne peut les en empêcher, et qu'il ne pouvait pas se permettre de perdre, se considérant comme un homme de jeu qui savait ce qu'il ne fallait pas prendre.

En dépit de sa personnalité égoïste, il est prouvé que Roman avait véritablement pris soin de son bras droit Neo, au point qu'il était à la fois attristé et en colère après avoir été emporté par le dirigeable lors de leur combat contre Ruby.

Aptitudes et Compétences Modifier

CombatModifier

1116 Black and White 15464

Roman combat Sun.

Combats romaines en utilisant sa signature canne-canon, Melodic Cudgel. Dans "Blake and White", Roman se révèle être habiles dans l'utilisation de sa canne comme une arme de mêlée et est très capable, en parant, capable de tenir tête à la fois Blake et Sun Wukong, dévier presque toutes leurs attaques. 

Il a les compétences nécessaires pour utiliser Melodic Cudgel offensivement, tels que de l'utiliser pour accrocher Blake vers lui pour livrer un coup de poing ou son échelonnement en fouettant ses genoux. En fait, Roman est venu près de accablante Blake, après avoir obtenu assez loin pour l'assommer à la terre et la désarmer temporairement. 

Il semble aussi avoir une précision exceptionnelle, comme il était en mesure de frapper Ruby avec un souffle de sa canne ainsi un grappin à une distance considérable. Ses réflexes sont impressionnants ainsi. Il était capable de se défendre contre les attaques des Blake et Sun, les deux adversaires, l'ambidextrie extrêmement rapides, en utilisant seulement sa canne. Malgré Blake clones d'ombre produire en utilisant sa Semblance, Roman est resté parfaitement conscient de sa position et les mouvements lors de l'engagement, la lutte contre rapidement ses attaques. Il peut également facilement détourner les attaques à longue portée, qui est vu avec les armes de Sun. 

Cependant, Roman peut être tenu de sous-estimer ses adversaires, ou non prévoir des attaques surprises. Dans "No Brakes", Roman n'a pas été en mesure de venir avec un compteur pour l'utilisation de Blake de clones semblant poussière augmentée, et a été surmontée rapidement et avec une relative facilité.

Pilotage Modifier

1101 Ruby Rose 09957

Roman pilotage un Bullhead.

Dans "Ruby Rose", Roman se révèle être un pilote qualifié, comme il a été en mesure de garder un Bullhead relativement stable, même si elle a été bombardée avec des attaques. 

Dans "Peinture de la ville ...", il est également capable de piloter un Robots Atlesian Paladin et d'utiliser les armes de la machine et systèmes sensoriels à bon escient, mais il était incapable de vaincre l'équipe RWBY tout en utilisant la machine. Roman a également montré une grande habileté au pilotage du Paladin, sans effort le guidant à travers la circulation, déplacer assez vite pour rattraper une fuite Blake et Sun.

Planification Modifier

Roman semble être une sorte de génie criminel. Par "Best Day Ever", il avait censément obtenu la plupart de la poussière dans Vale, montrant que ses intrigues néfaste est quelque chose à laquelle il faut compter. Cette image est favorisée par "Les joueurs et les morceaux», comme il est vu planification d'un hold-up, attaque, ou quelque chose de similaire, visant la totalité de Vale. Il semble aussi être très bon à évasions de planification doivent ses systèmes échouent, échappant sur une Bullhead après ses braquages de poussière échoué dans «Ruby Rose", "noir et blanc", et après sa Paladin est détruit dans "Peinture de la ville ... ».  Dans "Best Day Ever", Roman est considérée comme un pickpocket qualifiée assez, comme enlever un morceau de papier de Emerald Sustrai à son insu, en dépit d'être juste à côté, et venant en contact étroit avec elle.

Trivia Modifier

  • Roman Allusion à Romeo Candlewick de l'histoire de Pinocchio.
  • Son apparence ressemble un peu à Candlewick apparition dans l'adaptation cinématographique de Disney de Pinocchio nommé Lampwick.Le commentaire du réalisateur sur le RWBY Volume 1 DVD mentionne que l'apparence de Roman est un "shout-out à A Clockwork Orange" (1971 film britannique). Ceci est probablement parce que son apparence, en particulier le chapeau melon, eye-liner et son penchant pour les vêtements blancs, semble faire écho à l'apparition de la bande (connu sous le nom "drougs») dans le film.
  • Le nom et l'arme de Roman pourraient concerner le célèbre feu d'artifice de chandelle romaine, qui éjecte plusieurs étoiles pyrotechniques et est illégale dans certains pays. En outre, l'arme de Roman déclenche une explosion qui ressemble à un feu d'artifice.
  • Ruby Roman appelle par le nom "Red", une référence possible à le fait qu'elle est une allusion à Little Red Riding Hood.
  • Dans l'épisode "Ruby Rose", après un de ses sbires est projeté à côté de ses pieds, il remarque: «Vous étiez vaut chaque centime, vraiment vous étiez", ce qui implique que l'interaction entre lui et Junior Xiong dans la remorque "Jaune" était les hommes romains embauche de juniors pour le vol. Cela a été confirmé par Junior "Peinture de la ville ...".
  • Le style de combat de Roman semble être inspiré par l'art martial de Bartitsu, où les pratiquants ont appris à utiliser une canne comme une arme, en plus de diverses techniques de main-à-main.
  • L'emblème de Roman est un Jack-o'-lantern, autrement connu comme un Feu Follet ou Will-o'-La-flamme, dont l'origine était un esprit maudit de parcourir le monde avec seulement une torche / lanterne.
  • Son emblème peut être trouvé sur son briquet, ainsi que enroulé autour du bout de sa canne.

 

NavigationModifier

Personnages
Personnages Mineurs

Fandom

RWBY Wiki

Roman Torchwick

1,368pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Comments1k Share
The real world is cold! The real world doesn't care about spirit! You want to be a hero? Then play the part and die like every other Huntsman in history! As for me, I'll do what I do best: lie, steal, cheat and survive!
—Roman, to Ruby Rose

Roman Torchwick was a secondary antagonist in the world of RWBY. His weapon of choice was his cane known as Melodic Cudgel.

Roman made a very small cameo in the "Yellow" Trailer before being properly introduced in "Ruby Rose". There he orchestrated the robbery of Dust supplies from the store From Dust Till Dawn, but was ultimately foiled by Ruby Rose.

In "Heroes and Monsters", he was devoured by a Griffon after fighting Ruby atop a hijacked Atlesian Airship.

AppearanceEdit

Roman had slanted, dark-green eyes and bright, long, orange hair, with long bangs covering his right eye. Black eyeliner traced his visible left eye.

Roman wore a red-lined white suit with long black pants and black shoes. His accessories included a small gray scarf, black gloves with buckled sleeves, and a black bowler hat with a small feather tucked into its red band.

PersonalityEdit

Roman's personality was a mixture between that of a formal gentleman and a ruthless criminal. He emits charm and speaks calmly even in the middle of an armed robbery. Roman emits hostility when upset or frustrated, as seen in "No Brakes", when he ordered the White Fang to help him shoot Ruby as she escaped, bent his weapon, and slammed a subordinate backward.

Roman also demonstrated a ruthless streak, evidently willing to use lethal force on Ruby when she foiled his scheme, even going so far as to laugh after successfully shooting her down in "Black and White". In "Heroes and Monsters", he even chastised Ruby for her being blind to the cruelty of the real world while trying to beat her with his cane. Judging by his elaborate outfit and accessories, Roman also had expensive tastes, a common stereotype of Mafia Dons and other organized crime kingpins.

This trait was further exemplified by his reaction to the destruction of the Atlesian Paladin-290 that he was piloting, which caused him to be violently flung to the ground scattered by debris. Rather than appearing upset with what happened to his mech or afraid of the situation, he simply brushed himself off, commenting that the experience compromised the cleanliness of his suit.

Despite working with the White Fang, he had no respect for them or Faunus in general. On several occasions he talked to or about them in a derogatory fashion, referring to them as "mutts" or "animals". It is unclear if this is representative of hostility towards the Faunus in general or him acting out his frustrations towards having to work with the group. It may be he did not like being ordered around by Cinder Fall and her associates.

He also often took to mocking, taunting, and insulting his enemies, as seen when he called out to Blake Belladonna, saying, "Here kitty, kitty, kitty", as well as when he responded to Ruby's arrival by saying, "Well, hello, Red! Isn't it past your bedtime?" This quality persisted even when he was in very difficult situations, such as when he was imprisoned and interrogated by James Ironwood.

In "Heroes and Monsters", he revealed that he worked with Cinder's Faction under the belief that nobody can stop them, and he couldn't afford to lose, considering himself a gambling man who knew what bets not to take.

Abilities and PowersEdit

FightingEdit

1116 Black and White 15464

Roman fighting Sun.

Roman fought using his signature cane-cannon, Melodic Cudgel. In "Black and White", Roman was shown to be adept in using his cane as a melee weapon. He was very capable in parrying, able to hold his own against both Blake and Sun Wukong, deflecting nearly all of their attacks.

He had the skills to use Melodic Cudgel offensively, such as using it to hook Blake towards him to deliver a punch, or staggering her by whipping her knees. In fact, Roman came close to overpowering Blake, knocking her to the ground and temporarily disarming her.

He also had exceptional accuracy, able to shoot Ruby from a considerable distance along with snatching her by the hood with the grappling hook. His fight against Blake and Sun, both extremely swift, dual-wielding opponents, showed his reflexes were impressive as well. Despite Blake producing shadow clones using her Semblance, Roman remained perfectly aware of her position and movements during the engagement, quickly countering her attacks. He could also easily deflect long range attacks, which is seen with Sun's weapons. Roman was also able to counter all of Ruby's attacks with ease during their fight atop the airship, even when she was using her enhanced speed.

However, Roman was liable to underestimating his opponents, and had trouble adapting to surprise attacks. In "No Brakes", Roman found himself unable to counter Blake's use of Dust-augmented Semblance clones, and was promptly defeated.

PilotingEdit

1101 Ruby Rose 09957

Roman piloting a Bullhead.

In "Ruby Rose", Roman was a skilled pilot, as he was able to keep a Bullhead relatively stable even though it was being bombarded with multiple attacks.

In "Painting the Town...", he was also able to operate an Atlesian Paladin-290, effortlessly guiding it through traffic, moving it fast enough to catch up to a fleeing Blake and Sun. He utilized the paladin's weapons and sensory systems to good effect, yet despite that was unable to defeat Team RWBY.

In "PvP" he was able to pilot an Atlesian Airship all by himself and used it to take down two other Atlesian Airships with ease.

PlanningEdit

Roman appeared to be a sort of criminal mastermind. By "Best Day Ever", he had reportedly obtained most of the Dust in Vale, showing that his nefarious scheming was formidable. This image was furthered by "Players and Pieces", as he was seen planning a heist, attack, or something similar, targeting the entirety of Vale. He was also good at planning escapes should his schemes fail, escaping on a Bullhead after his failed Dust heists in "Ruby Rose", "Black and White", and after his Paladin is destroyed in "Painting the Town...".

In "Best Day Ever", Roman's pickpocketing skills are shown, lifting a piece of paper from Emerald Sustrai without her knowing, despite being in close proximity to her.

TriviaEdit

  • Roman alludes to Romeo Candlewick from the story Pinocchio.
    • His appearance bears some resemblance to Candlewick's appearance in Disney's film adaptation of Pinocchio named Lampwick.
    • The director's commentary on the RWBY Volume 1 DVD mentions that Roman's appearance is a "shout-out to A Clockwork Orange" [1](1971 British film). This is likely because his appearance, in particular the bowler hat, eyeliner and penchant for white clothing, echoes the appearance of the gang (known as the "droogs") in the film.
  • Originally, Roman was only going to appear in Volume 1. However, Monty Oum, Miles Luna, and Kerry Shawcross grew to love his character and how Gray G. Haddock voiced him, and they decided to keep him around.[2]
  • Roman's name and weapon could relate to the famous Roman candle firework, which ejects multiple pyrotechnic stars and is illegal in some countries. Also, Roman's weapon fires a blast that resembles a firework.
  • Roman calls Ruby by the name "Red", a possible reference to the fact that she is an allusion to Little Red Riding Hood.
  • Roman's fighting style seems to be inspired by the martial art of bartitsu, where practitioners are taught to use a cane as a weapon in addition to various hand-to-hand techniques.
  • Roman's emblem is a Jack-O'-Lantern, otherwise known as a Will-O'-The-Wisp or Will-O'-The-Torch, the origin of which was a spirit cursed to roam the world with only a torch/lantern.
  • In "Ruby Rose", it is revealed that Roman's criminal identification number within the Vale Police Department is 274761453.
  • Torchwick miming slitting his throat at Emerald and Mercury behind Cinder's back in "Best Day Ever" was not scripted. It was a character moment added in by Shane Newville.[3]
  • Roman is the first character to be killed by a Grimm on-screen.

ReferencesEdit

Characters
Minor Characters

Start a Discussion Discussions about Roman Torchwick

  • The stolen Dust

    13 messages
    • MiniDaggers wrote: Also to actually power the train probably. And other vehicles they use and the prototype paladins since Dust is also a f...
    • Water dust may have its own uses... Coolant? Electricity dust as power, various used in explosives. Different machinery, especially the paladi...
  • Gavin Free as Roman Torchwick

    7 messages
    • Neo, definitely.
    • Imagine when neo fell of the ship this happened Neo:(gasp) (Gavin screaming) WOOOOOAAAHH!!!! Torchwick: (in Michael's voice) YOU FUCK...

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.