FANDOM


C'est un héritage. Mon arrière-grand-père a utilisé pour combattre pendant la guerre.
——Jaune Arc, décrivant l'histoire de son arme

Crocea Mors[1] est l'arme signature de Jaune Arc. Jaune indique qu'il a été transmis de son grand-grand-père, qui l'a utilisé dans la Grande Guerre.

DescriptionModifier

L'épée lui-même est une épée d'armement simple avec une poignée bleue et une croix-garde dorée. Jaune peut transformer la gaine en un bouclier pour le combat. Le bouclier est un appareil de chauffage bouclier blanc avec une garniture d'or, et il montre l'emblème de couleur Jaune d'or dans le centre. 

Son explication pour la transformation du bouclier est que lorsque son bras est fatigué de transporter, il peut se rétrécir vers le bas, mais Ruby Rose répond, "Ça ne pèsent le même poids ?", ce que Jaune admet timidement être vrai. Il apparaît à déployer avec force importante, assez pour ses conseils pour s'intégrer dans une porte en bois dans "Jaunedice". 

Tant l'épée et le bouclier sont avérés incroyablement durable, en dépit de plusieurs générations apparemment falsifiés avant l'heure actuelle. L'épée est assez forte pour décapiter un Major Ursa, tandis que le bouclier est assez fort pour prendre plusieurs coups directs à partir d'un Ursa, un Death Stalker, et la masse de Cardin Winchester.

L'épée lui-même a plusieurs entailles sur la lame et quelques égratignures. Le bouclier a plusieurs éraflures sur elle.

AméliorationModifier

Dans "The Next Step", Crocea Mors et l'armure de Jaune ont été améliorés en utilisant soit les restes brisés de Miló et Akoúo̱; l'arme de feu Pyrrha Nikos, son bandeau ou les deux. La mise à niveau a été faite par le forgeron d'un village à Anima comme une forme de paiement pour l'équipe RNJR en battant un Geist.

L'épée a maintenant une garde croisée et une garde plus lourdes et plus élaborées. Le bouclier est maintenant accentué avec de l'or, y compris un dessin similaire au cercle de Pyrrha à la pointe du bouclier. Les éraflures et les égratignures sur les deux ont également été réparés, et la lame de l'épée a été polie à un nouveau éclat.

En raison des modifications, la gaine possède maintenant la capacité de devenir une lame plus large pour l'épée en prolongeant les bords aiguisés du bouclier. Faire ainsi ajoute le poids du bouclier derrière ses coups, augmentant la force de ses attaques.

Trivia Modifier

  • Crocea Mors signifie "la mort jaune" en latin et est le nom de l'épée de Jules César dans certaines légendes. De manière appropriée, les mêmes légendes l'ont incorporé dans un bouclier.
  • Avant que son nom a été révélé, Crocea Mors a été appelé Épée et Bouclier.
  • Le doubleur de Jaune est un directeur de RWBY, Miles Luna, a reconnu le nom créé par les fans et les ont utilisées au cours des entrevues avant Monty Oum décidé de révéler le vrai nom de sa création par l'intermédiaire de Facebook.
  • La lame a le même design que l'épée utilisée par le chasseur sur la statue de l'Académie de Beacon qui dispose d'un chasseur, une chasseresse, et un Beowolf.

RéférencesModifier

  1. Facebook de Monty Oum

NavigationModifier

Armes

Fandom

RWBY Wiki

Crocea Mors

1,368pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Comments345 Share
It's a hand-me-down. My great-great-grandfather used it to fight in the war.
—Jaune Arc, describing his weapon's history

Overview Image Gallery



Crocea Mors[1] is Jaune Arc's signature weapon. Jaune states that it was passed down from his great-great-grandfather, who used it in the Great War.

DescriptionEdit

The sword itself is a simple arming sword with a blue handle and a golden cross-guard. Jaune can transform the sheath into a heater shield for combat. The shield is white with a gold trim, displaying Jaune's golden emblem in the center.

His explanation for the shield's transformation is that when his arm gets tired of carrying it, he can shrink it down. However, when Ruby Rose points out that it would still weigh the same, Jaune sheepishly concedes the point. The shield appears to deploy with significant force, enough for its tips to embed themselves in a wooden doorway in "Jaunedice".

Both the sword and shield are shown to be incredibly durable, despite apparently being forged several generations prior to the present day. The sword is sharp enough to decapitate an Ursa Major, and the shield is sturdy enough to withstand several direct blows from an Ursa, a Death Stalker and Cardin Winchester's mace with no apparent damage.

The sword itself has several nicks on the blade and a few scratches and the shield has several scratches on it.

UpgradeEdit

In "The Next Step", Crocea Mors and Jaune's armor were upgraded using either the broken remains of Milo and Akuo; the weapon of the late Pyrrha Nikos, her circlet or both. The upgrade was made by the blacksmith of a village in Anima as a form of payment for Team RNJR defeating a Geist.

The sword now has a heavier and more elaborate cross-guard and hilt. The shield is now accented with gold, including a design similar to Pyrrha's circlet at the point of the shield. The scuffs and scratches on both have also been mended, and the sword's blade has been polished to a new shine.

Due to the modifications, the sheath now possesses the ability to become a wider blade for the sword by extending the sharpened edges of the shield. Doing so adds the weight of the shield behind his blows, increasing the force of his attacks.

TriviaEdit

  • Crocea Mors is Latin for 'yellow death' and the name of Julius Caesar's sword in some legends. Appropriately, the same legends have it becoming embedded in a shield.
  • Before its name was revealed, Crocea Mors was called Sword and Shielth. Jaune's voice actor and writer of RWBY, Miles Luna, acknowledged the name created by the fans and used it during the interviews before Monty Oum decided to reveal the true name of his creation via Facebook.
  • The old blade had the same design as the sword used by the male Huntsman on the statue in Beacon Academy that features a Huntsman, a Huntress, and a Beowolf.

ReferencesEdit

Weapons

Start a Discussion Discussions about Crocea Mors

  • Crocea Mors, hidden abilities?

    98 messages
    • It has now been confirmed that the upgrade was to combine the sword and shielth into a heavier and longer twohander sword, although there may...
    • This thread hasn't been touched in like 6 months, dude. Well before the final episode of Volume 4 went live.
  • It's Also a Gun?

    70 messages
    • If it had any such functions the blacksmith who upgraded it in V4E1 would have found them. I think we can put this to rest, now.
    • Phantomlink959 wrote:If it had any such functions the blacksmith who upgraded it in V4E1 would have found them. I think we can put this to re...

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.